Nemesis Challenge:It's OK to Finish Next-To-Last, As Long As I Beat HIM/ Its Here!!!!

that's nice

DIS Dad #330
The text message went like this......

Thursday Feb 16th 10:47am

Tim: So I had this crazy idea. I’m not sure if this is the right time for you though with the baby on the way. What if we had a marathon challenge and run in the January ½ marathon. I’ve never run one before. Maybe this would be a way to get myself into shape.

Barry: Hmmm… Interesting. You calling me fat? :) I could use the motivation too- I ran that 5K back in September but barely lifted my feet since then.

And so it began….

Who are these guys?

I’m Tim…

DSC08323.jpg

And my family…

DSC03193.jpg

My DW Melody, DD Juliana (5), and Christopher (6m)

As a kid I played sports and could never gain any weight. When I graduated high school I weighed 175lbs. I played football for a year in college and added some weight. I was up to 190. Not bad for a 6’1’’ guy. As time went on I got married and my wife Melody was pregnant with our first child. I gained weight along with her and before I knew it I was tipping the scales at 238lbs. Over the last few years, I have gone to the gym on a regular basis a few times. I had actually got my weight down to 203 lbs. But today I weigh 215. Ideally, I’d love to weigh around 195 but more than worrying about my weight, I want to have a healthier lifestyle. Heart disease runs in my family and my father needed a 5 vessel bypass a few years ago at the young age of 52. I saw how hard it was for him to recover and I don’t want to go through that.