ok, I am getting nervous, does DVC cut us a break if a Hurricane is approaching?

Rozzie

DIS Cast Member
does DVC ever be a little easier to cancel with if a Hurricane is forecasted? I was told by my guide when I bought this year that DVC was really understanding during last season. I have a trip in 7 days, spent all day on NOAA, seems there is a wave they are forecasting to strengthen and come into the gulf. The problem is, if there is a tropical system in the Gulf which is breathing toward NW Florida, my vacation gets automatically gets cancelled. (I'm a nurse on Gulf Coast) this will be our only DVC trip in hurricane season because of this policy. Just really wanted to go for my 30th...Rats...

any feedback???

Well, the good news is, it doesn't look like there are any hurricanes currently on the horizon...

...The bad news is that I'm not sure that you would be cut a break for your situation. Your situtaion is certainly unique-- so in any event, I would most defintely talk to DVC if it happens. I think, however, the only way it would really be something they would, across the board help with, would be if a hurricane were to hit Orlando directly.

...Have you looked into the travel insurance that accompanies the confirmations? I haven't, but that may be a good investment for you!

DVC has tended to be pretty accomodating in these types of situations. Once you have the problem, I would try to call them. Most travel insurance will not cover a hurricane that has already formed.

They've been somewhat flexible for impending hurricanes to the area though I don't think they'd be flexible days ahead on a just in case situation.