Please help me overcome my fear!

Ber

Earning My Ears
Hi Everybody,

Well this is my first time to post but I have been a regular reader of the Dis boards since my first trip to Orlando last September. I am delighted to say that my boyfriend and I are planning a return trip Oct/Nov 03. I have been miserable since returning home but reading the dis boards have helped me greatly!;) The reason I am posting, is to ask you all to give me some advice on how I can overcome my fear of doing the coasters. I had full intentions of doing them last year but when I saw them in reality, I completely lost my nerve. I hate the fact I let my fear get the better of me, and I have regretted it ever since. So I am asking all you coaster lovers to tell me why I should face my fear and what should I expect if I do manage to get myself onto one! As I said I am a regular reader of the boards and I know how helpful you all are so im sure you all can convince me why I should do the coasters!

Awaiting your reply,
Ber.:Pinkbounc

This is a tricky one. I would try starting off on something easy like Goofy's Barnstormer and Big Thunder Mountain Railroad and then work your way up.

I think that many people are put off by the look of coasters. The reality is that they are all very safe and when you ride them you feel very securely fixed in. I was a bit dubious about Nemesis at Alton Towers before I went on it but you are so well fastened in and it is so smooth that you never feel in any danger.

Another tip is to keep your eyes OPEN furing the ride. Many people shut their eyes - this makes the ride MORE intense as you cannot see what is happening - keep them open especially during inversions it is much better.

Just try them - chances are that you will love them and you certainly won't be harmed!

I agree that you should keep your eyes open if you can - although most of us close our eyes from time to time!