What to do?

Teacher03

DIS Veteran
My mom is dying from pancreatic cancer. She was diagnosed in September, and is not doing well. We were really surprised that she made it through Christmas. As soon as she was diagnosed, we knew what to expect as we lost a cousin to it two years ago. It is the hardest thing I have ever gone through. I am married with a family as are my two sisters. My dad has been the major caregiver, and now that things are getting worse, my sisters and I have been taking turns staying there. My sisters and I feel that it is time for her to go into a hospice, but my dad flat out refuses. It is getting more difficult to care for her at home. I am a teacher, and I have to go back to work soon. Mydad doesn't understand that I just can't spend the night there every night. (They live about 30 minutes away.) Plus I miss my kids. I want to be there for my mom, but I am so exhausted physically and mentally, I just don't know what to do. She could pass away at any time, or it could be a couple more weeks. I guess I am just looking for some advice, some prayers, some understanding. I just don't know what to do.

Your a great daughter! Sometimes hospice can come to the home. Why don't you call around and see what's available? I went through this with my son (18). There are alot of feelings that are happening and are going to happen. Don't got through it alone. :grouphug:

Whem my younger brother (17) was at the end of his battle we were able to get a hospice at the house. He really wanted to be in his room with his family when it was time and so we found a way to make it happen. Maybe a social worker could point you in the right direction.

You are doing an amzing thing for you family....just keep going....