Your suggestions please - social story for ASD son

Carebare609

Mouseketeer
Hello everyone, my DS 10 has just been diagnosed as Autistic. As a mum I always knew things worked different for him but he's bright and has learned how to fit in over the years. Doing new things out of his routine have always been a cause of high stress so i've been looking into what I could do to help with our upcoming trip to Disney World in April.

He is very into watching Youtube videos so I thought I would try to make a social story into a video he can watch. This is my first try at anything like this so I would really appreciate any suggestions you have.

I know i need to leave the text on screen longer as not everyone reads as quickly as i do :-)

Last edited:
HI there..

My son who is also 10 was just this summer diagnosed with Autism. he too is very rigid in his routines etc. I have never done a video of Disneyland. but we do use social stories.. I use Watson Institute for their social stories that you can edit.. you can put your own photos and text into the story and then print it off..
Your video is great, I would maybe change the order of looking for the sign to after the hotel.. if he is like my son and we dont do things in order.. then there can be a meltdown.. so if he feels he is getting off the plane, and then looking for signs of Disneyland , then he will think the next step is Disneyland..
when you get to the airport if you think that the lines through security will be too much for him you can ask for special assistance.. they will guide you through the security lines etc.. the same way that if you need a wheelchair they will help you through... there are programs with the airlines that allow the kids to do a dry run on a plane not sure if they have that program in the UK, (Im assuming you are coming from the UK) and not sure if he has flown before , but it could be something you look into...