30 day countdown - Aug. 2010 PTR - now with 40 year old WDW photos!

wlake

DIS Veteran
Hello! I’ve never written a PTR before (in fact, I hadn’t heard of them until last week!), but I thought it might be a fun thing to do. We’re doing a great deal of planning ahead for this trip, knowing it will be our last WDW trip for a few years.

We are a family of 4 in the Northeast. I’m a teacher, my DH is an engineer (mechanical, so of course he spends a lot of time trying to figure out how the more complicated rides work while the rest of us wait:rolleyes1), and we have two boys -- DS 8 and DS 5. DS 8 has a sensory processing disorder so we are very careful about how we plan our days, whether at home or at WDW.

We went to the World about a year before our oldest was born and took the boys last year. We stayed at POR both times and love it. It’s got a calm, very green atmosphere that feels like the opposite of the parks to us. It was a great place to come back to for my DS 8, as it’s a visually soothing environment.

On to this trip!

We weren’t planning on going. My mother’s family had a big reunion planned for July and that was going to be our trip for the year, despite it meaning that my DH would be spending a week living with roughly 20 in-laws. Then spring came and was incredibly difficult for my family. My FIL passed away suddenly, we were forced to make an unwelcome change in childcare arrangements (and so my DS 5 lost a huge support network), a flood changed our small rural town forever, and my DS 5 developed an ongoing medical problem. There were a few comparatively small illnesses and issues, as well as the continuing saga of settling my FIL’s estate and making sure my MIL, who lives a couple of hours away, is ok.