Advice for Staying Off Property

jbish

DIS Veteran
I'll be running the upcoming Wine & Dine Half Marathon with two friends. I'm a DVC member so I am used to staying on property. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to secure a DVC stay for the race and finding limited options on property. So *gasp* I'm considering staying at a non-Disney resort. Help! I'm a newbie now!

If we don't stay at a Disney resort, I'm assuming we will either rent a car or maybe just try to Uber/Lyft around town. What's it like getting to the race on Sunday morning via taxi/Uber/Lyft? Is it just a horrible hassle dealing with getting back to the hotel after the race? (My one and only other Run Disney race I was able to hop on the monorail back to BLT.)

Ideally we would stay as close as possible/be "on property" even if not at a Disney resort. I have heard many people talk about Wyndham Bonnet Creek - and the "Grand Orlando Resort" has okay rates. Convenient enough for the race? Swan/Dolphin seem to have availability but the rates are so much higher. Was also hoping for an AP discount to maybe help with the cost of a Disney resort, but nothing has come out yet.

Any advice/insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Doing some research now, anyone with experience with Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace? It says it's an "official Disney World Hotel" and has access to EMH and FP+? Sort of like Swan/Dolphin, except without Disney transportation?

I stayed there a couple of years ago. It was just OK, although the EMH was nice. Walking to Downtown Disney was easy back then; it may be a bit tougher to walk to Disney Springs now with the new traffic lane configurations. Please confirm, but I believe they have both daily parking and resort fees, which can add up. I also think they have ended the free breakfast in the lounge for elites.