Anyone have a goldendoodle?

100AcreWood

DIS Veteran
I'm not looking to debate whether breeders are honest, or whether I should rescue vs. buy a puppy. I understand and respect those opinions.

But, I would love to hear opinions and experiences from people with goldendoodles. I had a golden and a poodle and I'd love to know if their temperament is like the golden or a poodle. Anything else you'd like to share would be great.

I've been training dogs for about 10 years now professionally and have worked with almost every breed of dog and easily over 100 "doodles". Goldendoodles are one of the few breeds you couldn't pay me to get. Their temperament is INCREDIBLY unpredictable and of the major bite incidents I've had to deal with (8, and I consider a major bite incident to be one that involves medical professionals in the care of the wound), 3 of them have been by "Goldendoodles". I've even had to go to court as witness over one incident where the dog bit a child walking past it. Because of the crossing of the breeds, you can't make any sort of prediction of temperament and there is not enough of a history in the so called "breedlines" to know what you could get. They're a popular breed and people are churning them out like rabbits because they're making a fortune off of them. Often people breeding goldendoodles aren't paying as much attention as they would if they were breeding a purebred dog because there's no governing body over them. Eg where I live, you will be kicked out of the kennel club if you cross breed dogs purposely as people are doing with the golden and poodle crosses because of how dangerous and deceitful it is. And you can't make predictions on temperament when crossing breeds, or even looks, it's genetics that you just can't properly account for. You couldn't pay me to get one, the vets that I work with have said the same, and I talk anyone I know who's thinking about it out of getting one. They're not worth the risk.

Just my opinion.