Disney blocks L.A. Times from 'Thor' coverage after Disneyland story

embracejg

Mouseketeer
As a journalist myself, these tactics always confuse me. It reflects poorly on Disney, attracts more attention to the reporting and fires up the newsroom to more intensely cover the company. And it's not like the L.A. Times will go out of business because it couldn't post a review of "Thor: Ragnarok" today.

Here's the L.A. Times note about the situation: http://www.latimes.com/entertainmen...imes-note-on-disney-1509668978-htmlstory.html

And here's the L.A. Times piece which angered Disney: http://www.latimes.com/projects/la-fi-disney-anaheim-deals/

Before anyone gets carried away:
  • I never said Disney didn't have the right to do this. I only questioned what it would achieve
  • None of my comments are making a political statement

As a journalist myself, these tactics always confuse me. It reflects poorly on Disney, attracts more attention to the reporting and fires up the newsroom to more intensely cover the company. And it's not like the L.A. Times will go out of business because it couldn't post a review of "Thor: Ragnarok" today.

Here's the L.A. Times note about the situation: http://www.latimes.com/entertainmen...imes-note-on-disney-1509668978-htmlstory.html

And here's the L.A. Times piece which angered Disney: http://www.latimes.com/projects/la-fi-disney-anaheim-deals/

Before anyone gets carried away:
  • I never said Disney didn't have the right to do this. I only questioned what it would achieve
  • None of my comments are making a political statement

While I'll admit I think the LA Times piece was a bit of a hit job, I agree with your points.

Why bring more attention to it, and almost make them out to be a Martyr?

I am surprised to - the risk doesn't seem worth the potential reward

I guess the hope is that they will change their ways in the future

But in the end just comes off like a pissing contest