MAW Trip of a Lifetime....1st time to WDW! -Beach Update!

brookerene

DIS Veteran
:lovestruc Well here I go.... my pre trip planning for my son kaleb's MAW trip in Oct. We are really excited since 1: none of us have been to WDW (although I am a Disneyland Veteran) 2: We live on a ranch in NE which can be difficult to leave 3: This is more than likely a once in a childhood trip for my kids. Let me introduce myself I am Brooke, my husband is Brian, and my oldest son is Nathan (8), Kaleb(6) my Wish Child, and Zoe (4).
My son Kaleb was diagnosed with FSGS, a kidney disease, last year after a routine Kindergarten screening, and this winter he was put onto peritoneal dialysis until we could get throught the donation process. While we were at the hospital for his transplant evaluation, the social worker said he would qualify for Make-A-Wish. So we started that process too. Now we are three and a half hours from Omaha and the closest workers are 2+ hours away, but they came and asked Kaleb his wish. He had a hard time deciding between Disney or a playset. He wished for the playset but didn't like the choices so he wish for Disneyland but changed it when they said the accomodations at FL and GKTW were great. SO DW here we come.
But before we visit Mickey...I will be donating a kidney to him July 20th. Not too far away. Praise God that He has guided us through this journey and provided for us. Kaleb has had good health otherwise and so should do well for his surgery.
I grew up in SoCal and my grandparents worked at DL, my parents worked there and I worked there in High School, so I know a lot about DL but have no experience with DW. My good friend Carole will be meeting us there and she is a Disney Fan if every there existed one! LOL!:upsidedow
Any suggestions would be great, I made a Dining Res for CRT for the Wed of our trip, and we hope to make it to the beach one day if possible. We are also looking forward to the new Harry Potter area at Universal.
Thanks....:rotfl: