Southwest Airfares Increase

lspeltz

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone, this is my first question/post. I book a trip every year, typically in the Fall to Disneyworld, but I have done Spring too. I have been flying Southwest for the past 6 years for these trips. I went on the site today for Orlando in October and the fares have literally doubled! Does anyone have any idea why? Southwest is usually so good! Any info would be appreciated, thanks!

Where are you looking for Southwest flights? October 2019 flights, other than Oct. 1, do not go on sale till the beginning of March.

Where are you looking for Southwest flights? October 2019 flights, other than Oct. 1, do not go on sale till the beginning of March.
I put the last week of Sept in and used 10/1 for a return date, because 10/1 has been posted. I looked at Sept and Oct last year, and they were fairly similar, so I was using Sept this year as a reference/base point to get an idea (and it's double from last year too). I then looked at April and May this year, just to see, and it was double too. Weird.....

They can charge what they want.
Maybe your airport doesn't have as much demand compared to previous years so there's not as many flights available with supply down that drives the price up.
I've been flying with SWA since 2007 and what I found was that from about 2012 to 2016 prices seemed to double what I had been paying and then in the last couple years have come back down to a much more reasonable rate.
The last 4 flights I've booked from BUF to MCO have been $235 RT or less.

You are looking way too early. It will come down.

Fares on Fridays are always the highest also. Look on a Wednesday or Thursday from now on.

Maybe your airport doesn't have as much demand compared to previous years so there's not as many flights available with supply down that drives the price up.